• Home
  • 2008 College Contest Winners

NDPC 2008 College Communications Contest Winners

Winners of the 2008 North Dakota Professional Communicators College Communications Contest were recognized at the NDPC state conference April 26 at UND, Grand Forks. More than 60 college students and teams from six North Dakota and Minnesota schools participated in the annual competition. 
Communications professionals in each field judged entries from student journalists, editors, broadcasters, photographers, designers and writers and entries received awards. A total of 43 awards were presented in 25 categories. 
The contest is open to any student enrolled in at least a two-year college or university in North Dakota or Moorhead, Minn. Judges, selected for their professional expertise in each field, critique entries and provide students with feedback. 
Participating institutions were: North Dakota State University, Fargo; University of Mary and Bismarck State College, Bismarck, N.D.; Minot (N.D.) State University; Dickinson (N.D.) State University; Jamestown (N.D.) College; and Minnesota State University Moorhead.

NDPC is devoted to the advancement of professional and student communicators through workshops, contests, mentoring and continuing education opportunities.

2008 College Communications Contest results
Print Media Entries

News Reporting
First: Lee Morris, MSUM
Second: Alyssa Schafer, MSUM
Third: Tricia McCann, Jamestown
Honorable Mention: Holly Newton, Jamestown

First: Jenna Tews, Jamestown
Second: Robin Besse, Minot State            
Third: Richard Schmit, Jamestown
Honorable Mention: Bill Heinzen, Jamestown
Feature Story
First: Dustin Mohagen, MSUM
Second: Alyssa Schafer, MSUM
Third: Phil Johnson, MSUM
Honorable Mention: Amy Learn, MSUM
Honorable Mention: Lee Morris, MSUM
Special Articles
Honorable Mention: Robin Besse, Minot State
Personal Column
First: Dennis Frohlich, NDSU
Sports Writing
First: Zebulon Pierce, Minot State
Second: Marvin Youpee Jr, Minot State
Third: Layne Fluhrer, Jamestown
Personal Essay
First: Robin Besse, Minot State
Publication Regularly Edited by Entrant
First: Robin Besse, Minot State

Single News Photo
First: Matt Dettori, Jamestown
Second: Jesse Kelly, Minot State
Single Feature Photo
First: Jesse Kelly, Minot State
Second: Matt Dettori, Jamestown
Third: Tonya Stuart, Minot State
Single Sports Photo
Second: Jesse Kelly, Minot State
Third: Matt Dettori, Jamestown

Photo Essay
First: Angela Schneider, MSUM
Second: Heather Gruenhagen, MSUM
Third: Matt Johnson, MSUM


General News Reporting
Honorable Mention: Kit Cross, MSUM
Investigative/In-depth Report
Second: Mike Quinn, MSUM
Regularly Scheduled News/Information program
First: Campus News, MSUM
TV News Photography
Second: Kit Cross, MSUM
TV Feature Photography
Second: Kit Cross, MSUM

Advertising – Print

Single Display Ad

Second: Jenna Tews, Jamestown
Third: Lee Morris, MSUM

Other Communications Materials


Second: Camille Lebsock, University of Mary
Third: Kati Piper, University of Mary
Yearbook/Annual Literary Magazine
Honorable Mention: 
Impression Magazine, Dickinson State
 Jennifer Weisgerber, Bismarck State
Second: Jesse Kelly, Minot State
Short Fiction & Poetry
Honorable Mention:
 Dennis Frohlich, NDSU

View winners list>>

Copyright © 2002-2024. North Dakota Professional Communicators. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software