• Home
  • 2003 NFPW Winners

NFPW 2003 Communications Contest Winners

NDPC earned the second-place sweepstakes award in the 2003 National Federation of Press Women communication contest. Twenty media professionals from North Dakota and western Minnesota were named national winners in the annual NFPW communications contest.

NDPC placed second in the state affiliate sweepstakes with 33 winning entries. Virginia won top honors and Nebraska placed third.
Awards were presented Saturday, Sept. 6, at the NFPW Communications Conference in Wilmington, Del.
All entries in the national contest, which was judged by professionals from across the country, had received first-place awards at the state level. State winners were announced at NDPC's annual convention held in June in Grand Forks.
National winners include:
Janell Cole, Bismarck
First: Special articles, government or politics
Lori Dittmer, Fargo
First: News reporting, general or specialized circulation
Third: Special articles, advertorials
Jeri Dobrowski, Beach
Third: Book edited by entrant
Patricia Fix, Fargo
Second: Web content written for nonprofit organizations
Martin Fredricks, West Fargo
First: Black and white ad, retail product or service
First: Television commercial built around one subject
First: Radio commercial
Second: Color or spot ad, retail product or service
Honorable mention: News or feature releases
Erin Hemme Froslie, Fargo
First: Special series
Patty Hetland, Fargo
Second: Newspaper or magazine campaign, institutional or image
Merrie Sue Holtan, Fargo
Second: Publication regularly edited by entrant, general
Second: Single news release
Patricia Keogh-Wilson, Wahpeton
First: Single page edited by entrant, other than entertainment
Second: Frequent section edited by entrant, general or specialized circulation
Second: Internal annual report
Becky Koch, Fargo
First: Magapaper/Tabloid
Third: Black and white ad, institutional or image
Bonnie Lund, Horace, N.D.
First: Audiovisuals, PowerPoint
Eloise Ogden, Minot
Third: News photo, daily newspaper
Denise Pinkney, Fairmount, N.D.
Third: Media kit
Linda Sailer, Dickinson
Honorable mention; Photo essay, daily newspaper
Cole Short, Fargo
Honorable mention: Special articles, education
Elizabeth Stabenow, Moorhead, Minn.
Honorable mention: External annual report
Karen Stensrud, Fargo
First: One- to three-color brochure
Third: Internal communications
Tammy Swift, Moorhead
First: Personal columns, humorous
First: Frequent section edited by entrant, daily newspaper
Second: Single page regularly edited by entrant, entertainment, daily newspaper
Darrel Veldhouse, Moorhead, Minn.
Second: Photography on the Web
LoAnn Wegh, Dickinson
First: Color or spot ad, institutional or image
First: Single-sheet poster

View winners list>>

Copyright © 2002-2024. North Dakota Professional Communicators. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software