• Home
  • 2005 NFPW Winners

NFPW 2005 Communications Contest Winners

NDPC earned the third-place sweepstakes award in the 2005 National Federation of Press Women communication contest. Thirteen media professionals from North Dakota and Minnesota were named national winners in the annual NFPW communications contest.

NDPC placed third in the state affiliate sweepstakes with 27 winning entries. Delaware and Virginia tied for first place, and Kansas placed second. Awards were presented Saturday, Sept. 10, at the NFPW Communications Conference in Seattle. Professionals from across the country judged the contest.
All entries in the national contest received first-place awards at the state level. State winners were announced at NDPC’s annual convention held in April in Fargo.
National winners are:

Ellen Crawford, Fargo
Second: Page layout, daily newspaper

Doris Cooper, Jamestown
Third: Audiovisuals, video productions

Lori Dittmer, Mankato, Minn.
Second: News reporting, publication general or specialized

Julie Ellingson, St. Anthony
First: Magazine, one- to three-color
Second: Newspaper, trade paper or magazine — b/w single ad, retail product or service
Third: Sections/supplements edited by entrant — frequent, publication, general or specialized

Martin Fredricks, West Fargo
First: Brochure, four-color
First: Writing for the Web, web content, corporate or for-profit sites
Second: Newspaper, trade paper or magazine—b/w single ad, institutional or image
Third: Web site development/creation, corporate or for-profit sites

Catherine Jelsing, Fargo
First: Personality profile
Honorable Mention: Brochure, one- to three-color

Eloise Ogden, Minot
Honorable Mention: Photography in daily newspaper, news photo

Anne Robinson-Paul, Moorhead, Minn.
First: Writing for the Web, commentary
Second: Writing for the Web, feature article

Tracy Sayler, Casselton
Second: Editorial/Opinion, publication general or specialized

Elizabeth Stabenow, Moorhead
First: Internal communications
Third: Media kit

Karen Stensrud, Fargo
First: Audiovisuals, PowerPoint
First: Radio single commercial or campaign — one subject
First: Television single commercial or campaign — one subject
Second: Newspaper, trade paper or magazine campaign — one subject, institutional or image
Honorable Mention: Newspaper, trade paper or magazine — color or spot color ad, institutional or image (single ad)

Tammy Swift, Moorhead, Minn.
Second: Special articles: Special Articles, Science, ecology, and environment Second: Personal columns, humorous
Honorable Mention: Special articles: health

Katherine Tweed, Fargo
Second: Annual report, internal

View winners list>>

Copyright © 2002-2024. North Dakota Professional Communicators. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software