• Home
  • 2006 NFPW Winners

NFPW 2006 Communications Contest Winners

North Dakota Professional Communicators earned the third-place sweepstakes award in the 2006 National Federation of Press Women communication contest. Twenty-one media professionals from North Dakota and Minnesota were named national winners in the annual NFPW communications contest.

Martin Fredricks, West Fargo, earned second place in the individual sweepstakes category of the communications competition. The NFPW is open to both men and women. The sweepstakes category recognizes NFPW members who earn the most points for the number of category wins and places in each category.

NDPC placed third in the state affiliate sweepstakes with 38 winning entries. Virginia captured first place, and Kansas placed second. Awards were presented Saturday, Sept. 9, at the NFPW Communications Conference in Denver. Professionals from across the country judged the contest.
All entries in the national contest received first-place awards at the state level. State winners were announced at NDPC's annual convention held in May in Bismarck.
National winners are:
Jane Ahlin, Fargo
Second: Personal columns, general

Jane Brandt, Hebron
Second: Single page or pages regularly edited by entrant - other than lifestyle or entertainment, nondaily newspaper

Janell Cole, Bismarck
Second: Investigative reporting
Second: Feature story, daily newspaper
Third: Special articles, government or politics

Lori Dittmer, Mankato, Minn.
First: News reporting, general or specialized circulation

Julie Ellingson, St. Anthony
Second: Magazine, one- to three-color

Martin Fredricks, West Fargo
Second: Writing for the Web, web content, corporate or for-profit sites
Second: Newspaper, trade paper or magazine campaign or series built around one subject
Third: Newspaper, trade paper or magazine - color or spot color display, retail product or service
Third: Single-sheet poster
Third: Newsletter, one- to three-color
Honorable mention: Writing for the Web, feature article
Honorable mention: Brochure, four-color

Larry Gauper, Fargo
Third: Writing for the Web, Commentary

Hope Hanson, Gillette, Wyo.
Honorable mention: Special articles, social issues

Merrie Sue Holtan, Fargo
Third: Manuals and handbooks

Pamela Knudson, Grand Forks
Second: Audiovisuals, video productions

Eloise Ogden, Minot
Honorable mention: Photography in a daily newspaper, news photo
Second: Photography in daily newspaper, faces in the crowd

Denise Pinkney, Fargo
First: Photography on the Web or electronic publishing
First: Writing for the Web, headlines
First: Writing for the Web, captions

Carol Renner, Fargo
First: News or feature release - single release, feature release

Anne Robinson-Paul, Moorhead, Minn.
Second: Writing for the Web, news article
Third: Newsletter, four-color

Linda Sailer, Dickinson
Second: Special articles, advertorials
Third: Photography in daily newspaper, photo essay
Third: Photographer-writer
Honorable mention: Photography in daily newspaper, feature photo

Roxane Salonen, Fargo
Third: Juvenile book

Amanda Scurry, Grand Forks
First: Community or institutional relations

Karen Stensrud, Fargo
First: Brochure, one- to three-color
Second: Direct mail marketing

Kathy Tofflemire, Fargo
Third: Page layout, daily newspaper

Richard Volesky, Belfield
Second: Publication regularly edited by entrant, nondaily newspaper

LoAnn Wegh, Dickinson
First: TV campaign built around one subject
First: Newspaper, trade paper or magazine - color or spot-color display, institutional or image

View winners list>>

Copyright © 2002-2024. North Dakota Professional Communicators. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software