• Home
  • 2009 NFPW Winners

NFPW 2009 Communications Contest Winners

Martin Fredricks, owner of Fredricks Communications in West Fargo, was honored as the National Sweepstakes winner at the 2009 NFPW awards banquet in San Antonio, Texas, in September. Fredricks earned top awards in six public relations and marketing categories. The sweepstakes category recognizes NFPW members who earn the most points for the number of category wins and places in each category.

Twenty-two additional members of NDPC also received awards, and NDPC earned the second runner-up award in the Sweepstakes for states.

The annual NFPW communication contest, which provides an opportunity to compete in a wide range of categories, encourages and rewards excellence in communication. Only first place winners in NDPC’s state communication contest were eligible to enter NFPW’s national competition. NDPC winners on the national level were:

Janell Cole
, Bismarck, second, news reporting, daily newspaper

Laurie Baker
, second, creative verse, single entries; honorary mention, section edited by entrant, specialized publication

Ellen Crawford, first, reports, general report; honorary mention, special articles, agriculture

Mary-Anne Fiebig, second, photography in printed publication other than newspaper

Megan Fraase, honorary mention, commentary, writing for the Web

Martin Fredericks, first, writing for the Web, corporate site; first, single ad, institutional or image; first, print or electronic campaign built around one subject, retail products or service; second, newsletter, four color; first, direct mail marketing; second, publications regularly edited by entrant, newsletters

Joel Hagen, third, feature story, internal publication

Joe Hixson, first, Web site creation, nonprofit sites

Becky Koch, first, magapaper/tabloid, one to three color

Tim Morrissey, second, writing for the Web, online newspapers

Joe Hixson, first, Web site creation, nonprofit organization

Jeanine Noce, honorary mention, audiovisual, video production

Avery Nubson, first, children’s books, fiction; second, Web site creation, nonprofit site

Anne Robinson-Paul, second, internal communications

Denise Pinkney, second, news reporting, internal publication

Roxanne Salonen, first, special articles, religion

Karen Stensrud, second, section edited by entrant, internal publication; second, single ad, retail product or service; first, poster campaign, billboard; third, radio campaign built around one subject

Amy Willson, second, personality profile; honorary mention, news or feature, multiple releases

Debora Dragseth
, first, special articles, business

Linda Sailer, Dickinson, second, single page edited by entrant, lifestyles, daily newspaper; first, single pages edited by entrant, other than lifestyles, daily newspaper; third, section edited by entrant, daily newspaper; third, section edited by entrant, regular sections, daily newspaper; second, page layout, daily newspaper

Jennifer Dobrowski
, third, newsletter, one to three color

Lana Rakow, third, speeches

Jo Ann Winistorfer
, first, book edited by entrant

Catherine Jelsing
, first, special articles, home; second, special articles, travel; second, special articles, advertorials; third, special articles, food

NDPC members Denise Pinkney and Karen Stensrud, both Fargo, were named co-directors of the NFPW High School Communications Competition. Students compete in 14 categories and winners are honored at the annual September NFPW banquet.The only nationwide communications competition for high school students, the contest is endorsed by the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

NFPW is an organization of professional journalists and communicators. For more than 70 years, it has promoted the highest ethical standards in communications; provided professional development, youth programs and networking; and advocated for protection of First Amendment rights.

NDPC is an organization of men and women employed in all aspects of communications: journalism, public relations, education, publishing, marketing, advertising, photography and freelancing. NDPC is committed to networking, career development, and evaluation and recognition for its members. 

View winners list>>

Copyright © 2002-2022. North Dakota Professional Communicators. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software