• Home
  • 2014 NFPW Winners

NFPW 2014 Communications Contest Winners

Winners of the 2014 National Federation of Press Women (NFPW) Communications Contest were recognized at the annual fall conference in Greenville, S.C, September 4-6.

Fourteen members of NDPC earned 26 awards for their work in print media, photography, advertising, writing for and development of the Web, promotion, public relations, marketing, speeches and books.

NDPC member Jeanine Larson, West Fargo, N.D., was recognized as North Dakota's Communicator of Achievement at the NFPW conference.

NDPC is the state affiliate of NFPW, an organization of communication professionals from across the United States. NDPC is an organization of women and men employed in all aspects of communication: newspapers, public relations, education, magazines, television, radio, publishing, advertising, photography and freelance. 

Individual winners at the national level were:

Carrie Carney, Fargo, N.D.
Third: PR Materials – Direct Mail Marketing

Ellen Crawford, Fargo, N.D.
Third: Writing - News Story - Magazine, newsletter or other non-newspaper print publication
Third: PR Materials - Brochures - Nonprofit, government or educational
Honorable Mention: Writing - Specialty articles - Education
Honorable Mention: Information for the Media - News or feature releases

Sarah Hoffbeck, Fergus Falls, Minn.
Second: Web and Social Media - Writing for the Web

Merrie Sue Holtan, Perham, Minn.
Second: Writing - Specialty articles - Home (interior decoration, furniture, architecture, landscaping)
Second: Writing - Specialty articles - Sports

Catherine Jelsing, Rugby, N.D.
First: Web and Social Media - Website edited or managed by entrant - Nonprofit, government or educational

Jeanine Larson, West Fargo, N.D.
First: Web and Social Media - Website edited or managed by entrant - Corporate or for-profit
Second: Web and Social Media - Social Media Campaign - Corporate or for-profit

Amanda Peterson, Moorhead, Minn.
Honorable Mention: Writing - Personality profile - More than 500 words

Denise Pinkney, Fargo, N.D.
First: Web and Social Media - Blogs - Nonprofit, government or educational

Carol Renner, Fargo, N.D.
First: Information for the Media - News or feature release - single release
Second: Communications programs and campaigns - Audiovisuals

Linda Sailer, Dickinson, N.D.
First: Writing - Specialty articles - Advertorials (writing done for special ad supplements or special sections)
Honorable Mention: Writing - Specialty articles - Business
Honorable Mention: Editing and Page Design, Print Publications - Sections or supplements infrequently edited by entrant - Newspaper

Roxane B. Salonen, Fargo, N.D.
First: Writing - Specialty articles - Religion

Daron Selvig, Fargo, N.D.
First: Web and Social Media - Videos for Website - Nonprofit, government or educational

Karen Stensrud, Fargo, N.D.
First: Advertising Categories - Single advertisements for print or electronic publication
First: Advertising - Radio and television advertising - Radio
First: Advertising Categories - Radio and television advertising - Television
Third: Advertising Categories - Advertising campaigns built around one subject (print, online or combination of the two)
Honorable Mention: Communications programs and campaigns - Community, institutional or internal relations

Jo Ann Winistorfer, Hazen, N.D.
First: Editing and Page Design, Print Publications - Page design - Magazine, newsletter or other non-newspaper publication

View winners list>>

Copyright © 2002-2022. North Dakota Professional Communicators. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software