• Home
  • 2015 NFPW Winners

NFPW 2015 Communications Contest Winners

Winners of the 2015 National Federation of Press Women (NFPW) Communications Contest were recognized at the annual fall conference in Anchorage, AK, Sept. 10-12.

Seventeen members of North Dakota Professional Communicators (NDPC) earned 27 awards for their work in print media, photography, advertising, writing for and development of the Web, promotion, public relations, marketing, speeches and books.
NDPC member Karena Carlson, Fargo, N.D., was recognized as North Dakota's Communicator of Achievement at the NFPW conference.
NDPC is the state affiliate of NFPW, an organization of communication professionals from across the U.S. NDPC is an organization of women and men employed in all aspects of communication: newspapers, public relations, education, magazines, television, radio, publishing, advertising, photography and freelance.

Individual winners at the national level were:

Anne Marie Denholm, Valley City, N.D.

First: Sections or supplements edited by entrant - infrequent - Magazine, newsletter, or other non-newspaper publication
Second: Photographer-writer
Honorable Mention: Page design - Magazine, newsletter, or other non-newspaper publication
Becky Koch, Fargo, N.D.
First: Magapapers/Tabloids
Bonnie Oelschlager, Fargo, N.D.
Honorable Mention: Specialty articles - Physical health, fitness, mental health, self-help
Carrie Carney, Fargo, N.D.
First: Direct-mail marketing
Darrel Veldhouse, Moorhead, Minn.
First: Audiovisuals
Third: News story - Magazine, newsletter, or other non-newspaper print publication
Ellen Crawford, Fargo, N.D.
Second: News or feature releases - multiple releases
Jeanine Larson, West Fargo, N.D.
First: Social Media Campaign - Corporate or for-profit
Third: Blogs - Corporate or for-profit
Third: Website edited or managed by entrant - Corporate or for-profit
Karen Stensrud, Fargo, N.D.
First: Direct-mail Marketing
Karena Carlson, Fargo, N.D.
Second: Public service
Linda Sailer, Dickinson, N.D.
Third: Headlines
Third: Page design - Newspaper
Honorable Mention: Single page, section, or supplement regularly edited by entrant - Newspaper
Lisa Farnham, Fargo, N.D.
Second: Reports (including, but not limited to, annual reports)
Lisa Dahlen Steffens, Fargo, N.D.
Second: Website edited or managed by entrant - Nonprofit, government, or educational
Merrie Sue Holtan, Perham, Minn.
Second: Specialty articles – Sports
Pam Musland, Jamestown, N.D.
Second: Personality profile - 500 words or fewer
Pamela Knudson, Grand Forks, N.D.
First: Specialty articles - Social issues
Third: Specialty articles - Education
Honorable Mention: News story - Print-base newspaper
Sarah Hoffbeck, Fergus Falls, Minn.
Third: News or feature release - single release
Honorable Mention: Blogs - Nonprofit, government, or educational
Tracy Nicholson, Fargo, N.D.
Second: Single page, section, or supplement regularly edited by entrant - Magazine, newsletter, or other non-newspaper publication
Honorable Mention: Editorial/Opinion - Magazine, newsletter, or other non-newspaper publication

View winners list>>

Copyright © 2002-2024. North Dakota Professional Communicators. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software