• Home
  • 2016 NFPW Winners

NFPW 2016 Communications Contest Winners

Winners of the 2016 National Federation of Press Women (NFPW) Communications Contest were recognized at the federation’s annual conference, held in Wichita, Kan., Sept. 8-10.

Eighteen members of North Dakota Professional Communicators earned 44 awards for their work in print media, photography, radio and TV advertising, writing for and development of the Web, blogging, social media, community relations, marketing and books.
NDPC member Pam Knudson, Grand Forks, was the overall NFPW national sweepstakes winner, and member Roxane Salonen, Fargo, was runner-up. Pam Gibb, Moorhead, was recognized as NDPC's Communicator of Achievement at the conference.

Individual winners at the national level were:

Anne Marie Denholm, Valley City
First: Sections or supplements (infrequent) - Magazine, newsletter, or other non-newspaper publication
Third: News Story - Magazine, newsletter, or other non-newspaper print publication
Third: Single photograph - News or feature photo
Becky Koch, Fargo
First: Magapapers/Tabloids
Brian Shawn, Fargo
Third: Single photograph - General photo (open competition - no subcategories as to type of publication)
Carol Renner, Fargo
First: News or feature release – single release
Carrie Carney, Fargo
Third: Direct-mail marketing
Danielle Teigen, Fargo
Second: Blogs - Personal
Darrel Veldhouse, Moorhead, Minn.
Second: Social Media Campaign - Corporate or for-profit
Honorable Mention: News Story - Online Publication
Ellen Crawford, Fargo
Third: Specialty articles - Agriculture, Agribusiness, Aquaculture
Jeanine Larson, West Fargo
First: Writing for the Web
First: Brochures - Corporate or for-profit
Second: Community, institutional, or internal relations
Second: Public service
Third: Website edited or managed by entrant - Corporate or for-profit
Karen Stensrud, Fargo
First: Single advertisements for print or electronic publication
First: Advertising campaigns built around one subject (print, online, or combination of the two)
Kelly Krenzel, Fargo
Third: Social Media Campaign - Nonprofit, government, or educational
Linda Sailer, Dickinson
Second: Single page, section, or supplement regularly edited by entrant - Newspaper
Third: Specialty articles - History
Third: Page design - Newspaper
Lisa Farnham, Fargo
First: Brochures - Nonprofit, government, or educational
Second: Newsletters - Nonprofit, government, or educational
Merrie Sue Holtan, Perham, Minn.
First: Specialty articles – Sports
Honorable Mention: Specialty articles - Home (interior deco, furniture, architecture, landscaping)
Pamela Knudson, Grand Forks
First: Specialty articles - Arts and entertainment
First: Specialty articles - Food
First: Specialty articles - Hobby or craft
First: Specialty articles - Social issues
Second: Specialty articles - Fashion
Second: Specialty articles - Physical health, fitness, mental health, self-help
Third: Specialty articles - Science or technology
Roxane Salonen, Fargo
First: Specialty articles - Religion
First: Columns - General
Second: Feature story - Print-based newspaper
Second: Personality profile - More than 500 words
Second: Nonfiction books for adult readers - Biography or Autobiography
Sarah Hoffbeck, Fergus Falls, Minn.
Second: Web site edited or managed by entrant - Nonprofit, government, or educational
Suzanne Irwin, Grand Forks
Second: Radio and television advertising - Television
Honorable Mention: Videos for Website - Nonprofit, government, or educational
Tracy Nicholson, Fargo
Second: Page/Section/Supplement regularly edited by entrant - Magazine, newsletter, other non-newspaper publication
Second: Page design - Magazine, newsletter, or other non-newspaper publication
Honorable Mention: Editorial / Opinion - Magazine, newsletter, or other non-newspaper print publication

View winners list>>

Copyright © 2002-2024. North Dakota Professional Communicators. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software